It’s an undeniable fact that Instagram is the most addictive social media platform. Instagram will definitely make you excited in capturing each and every moment in your life and share it with others. Not only sick of posting your photos on Instagram, some of them simply like looking at the perfectly captured photos of their friends or colleagues on this platform. A maximum number of people out there are interested in sharing their personal stuff with the popular social networks.
After finding some issues that we had already experienced with Facebook, people are quite concerned about their privacy on such networking sites. Still, if you don’t have trust on such platforms, the only solution is to get out of them. When speaking about your Instagram account, it may not be quite challenging to delete your account. However, there are some vital points that are worth noting before heading to delete your account on Instagram.
Deleting your Instagram account might require just a few clicks on the website. But, it doesn’t give you in a complete elimination of your Instagram profile. For doing so, the users need to get through the in-depth guide for deleting an Instagram account permanently explained here. This post explains the step-by-step procedure on how to delete an Instagram account on iPhone, Android mobile phone, and website permanently. Have a look!
Delete My Account on Instagram
Instagram is an excellent photo and video-sharing website that is compatible with Android, iOS, Windows 10 and different platforms. This platform offers numerous benefits and features such as Instagram Captions, Stories and more. If you are planning to delete your Instagram account permanently, just check out this post. Once you delete your account, all your videos, photos, followers and other data will vanish forever. The users may not be able to use the Instagram Names once they delete the account.
How to Delete Instagram Account?
In fact, there are two ways to delete an Instagram account either from your mobile device or from the website. One is to delete it permanently or disable your account temporarily. This post explains you a detailed procedure on how to delete an Instagram account on mobile and website. Also, check the ways to delete your account either temporarily or permanently here.
Method 1: Delete your Instagram Account on Mobile [Android/iPhone]
Here is a step by step guide on how to permanently delete an Instagram account using your Android or iPhone device.
1. Open Instagram Profile
- First of all, open Instagram from the home page on your iPhone or Android.
- You can find the login page wherein you need to enter the crucial details in the respective fields.
- By tapping the profile picture, you will be landed on the profile page.
2. Access Settings
- You need to tap the gear icon or three-dotted icon on that page that directs you to the Settings.
- Just select the option ‘Help Center’ within the support section.
3. Choose ‘Delete Account’ option
- Under the ‘Managing your account’ tab, you need to hit the option ‘Delete your account’.
- You will get two options wherein you can go with the 2nd option ‘How do I delete my account?’
- Once again tap the same delete link highlighted in blue color.
4. Log into Instagram Account
- Then, log into your Instagram account using the username and password.
5. Pick your Reason for Deleting
- Just tap the drop-down menu and you can choose the reason for deleting your account on Instagram permanently.
- If you are not willing to disclose your reason, just select ‘Something else’.
- After that, re-enter your password and confirm permanent Instagram account deletion.
6. Delete Instagram Account Permanently
- Just press the button that says ‘Permanently delete my account’.
- A prompt window displays on the screen asking for your confirmation.
- Just tap the OK button. That’s it! Your account has been deleted permanently.
That’s all! This is the simple way to delete your account on Instagram via the mobile device. The same procedure will repeat for deleting an account through the desktop device.
Method 2: Disable Instagram Account Temporarily
Follow the simple steps provided below to delete or disable an Instagram account for a temporary time period.
- First of all, go to the Instagram.com website from any of your web browsers.
- Log into your account using the precise login details.
- Just tap the profile button that appears in the top-right corner of the screen.
- Besides your profile picture and the username, you can tap the option that says ‘Edit Profile’.
- Just scroll down and tap the link ‘Temporarily disable my account’.
- You can choose a reason for disabling your account.
- You need to enter your password once again.
- Finally, tap the button that reads ‘Temporarily Disable Account’.
- If you want to reactivate your Instagram account, you can easily do it by logging back into it with the same credentials.
Delete Instagram Account on iPhone – FAQs
Till now, you have seen the methods to deactivate and disable an Instagram account. What happens when you delete your account? Can you reactivate it? For all such queries, just scroll down below to find the relevant answers. Here are some of the frequently asked questions related to the process of deleting an Instagram account from your iPhone or Android device.
1. Can I Reactivate my Deleted Account?
In case, you have disabled your Instagram account temporarily then, there is a possibility to recover it. One could easily recover their Instagram profile and the earlier posts through reactivation. If you have permanently deactivated your account, you can’t even recover it. The only solution is to create a new Instagram account.
2. Is there a possibility for someone to Delete My Account without consent?
Instagram has been designed in such a way that none of them could access your account unless and until you give them your account details. For security concern, it’s not at all possible to delete your account by others.
3. Can I Recover Deleted Photos on Instagram?
As mentioned before, one can recover their deleted stuff from their Instagram profile if the account is disabled for a temporary period of time.
4. What happens to the photos & other stuff after deleting my account?
The users will lose the whole content after deleting an Instagram account. The photos you have posted, videos, profile, followers, likes, comments and everything will be deleted.
These are the two simple methods that help the users to delete their Instagram account via mobile and desktop. We have included both the methods to delete/disable your account permanently and disable it temporarily. Hope this tutorial has guided you in the best way to get rid of your Instagram profile. By deleting the account permanently, you will no longer have access to your Instagram posts, pictures, videos, stories and other stuff.